# MINUTES OF THE <u>ANNUAL</u> MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF THE HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE COUNTY OF DEKALB TUESDAY, APRIL 18, 2023

The Commissioners of the Housing Authority of the County of DeKalb met at the Housing Authority's Central Office, 310 N. 6th Street, DeKalb, IL at 2:31 PM on Tuesday, April 18, 2023.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Wahlstrom and upon roll call, those present and absent were as follows:

### **Commissioners Present**

**Commissioners Absent** 

Ging Smith Ron Bemis (arrived late, 2:33pm) Hounsrou Adjegan (arrived late, 2:35pm) Sabrina Nicholson Jerry Wahlstrom

### **Others Present**

Tim Horning, Attorney
David Siegel, Executive Director
Christine Sauter, CFO
Jill Morgan, Operations Director

There being a quorum present, the meeting duly convened.

<u>Approval of the Agenda.</u> Chairperson Wahlstrom asked for changes to the agenda. There being no changes to the agenda, Commissioner Nicholson made a Motion to approve the Agenda and Commissioner Smith seconded the Motion. Upon roll call of the vote, the Ayes and Nays were as follows:

Ayes
Sabrina Nicholson
Ging Smith
Jerry Wahlstrom

Nays None

All were in favor, none opposed. Motion then carried.

<u>Public Comment</u>. Two members of the public were present. Derek Van Buer provided comments regarding Illinois Municipality Budget Law. Mr. Van Buer feels that the Housing Authority must comply with this statute. Mark Charvat then spoke on Conflict of Interest forms. He feels Mr. Bemis should recuse himself from any voting on financial matters. Mr. Charvat also recommended that HACD post the board packets along with agendas.

**Bylaws**. Commissioners reviewed the bylaws and determined that no changes were required other than modifying the Contents page to accurately reflect that Article 8 of the bylaws only has 4 sections.

Commissioner Wahlstrom reviewed the Commissioners attendance records, noting the high attendance rates. Commissioner Wahlstrom reviewed the remaining terms of Commissioner appointments. Commissioner Wahlstrom then asked for nominations for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.

# MINUTES OF THE <u>ANNUAL</u> MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF THE HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE COUNTY OF DEKALB TUESDAY, APRIL 18, 2023

Commissioner Smith nominated for retention both Jerry Wahlstrom for appointment to Chairperson and Ron Bemis as Vice-Chairperson. This status quo motion was seconded by Commissioner Adjegan. With no other nominations being offered, the Ayes and Nays were as follows:

Ayes
Ron Bemis
Sabrina Nicholson
Hounsrou Adjegan
Ging Smith
Jerry Wahlstrom

Nays None

All were in favor and with none opposed the nomination for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson was closed.

Commissioners reviewed the Conflict of Interest [COI] form, all were signed and submitted.

There being no further business, Commissioner Bemis made a Motion to Adjourn the Annual

Meeting. Commissioner Adjegan seconded the Motion. Upon roll call the Ayes and Nays were as follows:

Ayes
Ron Bemis
Ging Smith
Jerry Wahlstrom
Hounsrou Adjegan
Sabrina Nicholson

Nays None

All were in favor, none opposed. Motion then carried and the Annual Meeting was closed.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:40 PM. Commissioners moved directly into the regular meeting scheduled to take place, in person on <u>Tuesday, April 18, 2023, directly following the annual meeting at 310 N. 6<sup>th</sup> Street, DeKalb IL 60115.</u>

	CHAIRMAN
(SEAL)	
ATTEST:	
SECRETARY-TREASURER	

#### **CERTIFICATE**

I, DAVID SIEGEL, the duly appointed, qualified and acting Secretary of the HOUSING AUTHORITY OF THE COUNTY OF DEKALB, ILLINOIS, and Keeper of the records thereof, do hereby certify that I have compared the annexed complete unapproved Minutes as recorded by me and retained in the Records of said Authority, and certify that it is a true, complete, and correct presentation of said Minutes, including attachments or exhibits made a part of these Minutes.

I further certify that if the Minutes are subsequently corrected or amended, I shall forward promptly such correction or amendment and a copy of the attachments or exhibits made a part of these Minutes.

I further certify that the said Meeting was held on April 18, 2023, and roll call showed the following members to be present and absent:

#### **Commissioners Present**

**Commissioners Absent** 

Ron Bemis Hounsrou Adjegan Sabrina Nicholson Ging Smith Jerry Wahlstrom

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and the seal of said Authority this April 19, 2023.

ACTING SECRETARY	